Tuesday, July 23, 2024

Meet the winners

In a momentous celebration of innovation, dedication and leadership in the energy sector, CEENERGYNEWS is proud to announce, for the first time, the winners of the CEENERGYNEWS Awards.


Winner: Franck Neel, Executive Board Member, OMV Petrom

Franck Neel has demonstrated exemplary leadership. In the face of recent challenges within the energy industry. Not only he adapted strategically but also inspired his team to reach new heights. He spent more than 25 years working in the energy industry, for different international companies, always present in the region, in countries such as the Czech Republic, Hungary and Romania. This award reflects Franck Neel’s commitment to driving his company’s sustainability agenda, responding adeptly to industry challenges and serving as a true inspiration to his team.


Winner: Zsófia Beck, Managing Director and Partner, Boston Consulting Group

Zsófia Beck has been recognised as the Most Influential Energy Expert for her groundbreaking work that has significantly impacted the energy world. By initiating constructive discussions and challenging conventional thinking, Zsófia Beck has shaped the local and global energy industry, being responsible for the transformation of the biggest energy companies in the region. Now, as Managing Director and Partner at Boston Consulting Group, based in Budapest, she leads the firm’s activities in the Energy and Climate and Sustainability sectors in CEE.


Winner: Rareş Hurghiş, Strategy Expert, ENGIE Romania

Rareş Hurghiş has made a substantial contribution to the energy sector, working for one of the biggest international energy companies, present in more than 30 countries and with over 96,000 employees. His efforts have not only inspired fellow young professionals but have also played a crucial role in shaping his company’s policies. He possesses more than 9 years of expertise in the energy industry, encompassing distribution and provision, natural gas and electricity, as well as renewable energies.


powered by

Winners: Arijeta Pajaziti Qerimi, SCADA EMS Specialist at KOSTT and Boyana Achovski, Secretary General, GIE

Arijeta Pajaziti Qerimi has been part of the sector for more than 20 years. She currently works as a specialist SCADA/EMS in the Kosovo Transmission System and Market Operator (KOSTT) and she contributes to the advancement of the national agenda for the inclusion of women in energy as the Executive Director of the Association of the Women in the Energy Sector of Kosovo.
Boyana Achovski is the Secretary General of Gas Infrastructure Europe (GIE), the association representing the interests of European gas infrastructure operators, 68 members from 27 countries that operate Europe’s renewable and low-carbon gas transmission, storage and LNG regasification terminals.

Arijeta Pajaziti Qerimi

Boyana Achovski


Winner: Teodora Georgieva, Executive Officer, ICGB

A special category was created by the editorial staff of CEENERGYNEWS to award Teodora Georgieva, Executive Officer of the ICGB. Teodora Georgieva has shown extensive knowledge of the energy industry, being always available to share precious insights with us and through us with a wide regional audience of the sector and beyond. She is a leader and a pioneer in painting a new map of Europe’s gas infrastructure while laying the foundations for the future hydrogen-based economy.